« Return to News Archives

URAC Announces Call for Entries for Its 2012 Best Practices Awards

Tuesday, January 10th, 2012

Deadline for entries is February 17, 2012

Washington, DC – January 10, 2012 – URAC, a leading health care accreditation and education organization, has issued a call for entries for its 2012 Best Practices Awards in Health Care Consumer Empowerment and Protection. The awards program was created to honor the achievements of health care companies that actively pursue practices to advance consumer empowerment and protection in an exceptional, measurable and reproducible way. Submissions are being accepted at https://www.urac.org/13thAnnualSummit/bpa.asp.

“We are honored once again to showcase best-in-class practices from organizations across the health care spectrum and recognize those who truly engage consumers as partners,” said Alan P. Spielman, president and CEO of URAC.
URAC’s Best Practices Awards recognize the achievements of companies that are leading the industry in health care value, transparency and accountability. Last year’s winners included innovative companies such as Platinum Award recipients Catalyst Rx and Kaiser Permanente Northern California and the Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation.
Awards will be given in two categories:

Consumer Decision-Making – recognizes practices that educate consumers about their health care needs while providing the information, tools and resources necessary to promote empowerment. These could include health coaching, disease-specific education or behavior change programs.

Consumer Health Improvement – honors practices that are related to quality improvement in patient safety or health care outcomes such as drug therapy management, disease prevention or care coordination.
The competition is open to six types of health care organizations:

  • Health care provider practices;
  • Health information/decision support companies;
  • Health management companies;
  • Health plans and health networks;
  • Pharmacy management companies; and
  • Workers’ compensation companies.


For 25 years, URAC has been the independent leader in promoting health care quality through accreditation, education, and measurement. URAC offers a wide range of quality benchmarking programs that reflect the latest changes in health care and provide a symbol of excellence for organizations to showcase their validated commitment to quality and accountability. URAC’s evidence-based measures and standards are developed through inclusive engagement with a broad range of stakeholders committed to improving the quality of health care.

For more information about URAC, contact us.

Interested in accreditation?
Contact businessdevelopment@urac.org

Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Social Media TextFollow us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on Linked In