« Return to News Archives

URAC Announces Call for Entries for the 2011 Best Practices Awards in Health Care Consumer Empowerment and Protection

Thursday, January 6th, 2011

URAC Announces Call for Entries for the 2011 Best Practices Awards in Health Care Consumer Empowerment and Protection

Submissions Accepted at https://www.urac.org/12thAnnualSummit/bpa.asp

Washington, D.C. – January 6, 2011 – URAC, a leading health care accreditation and education organization, has issued a call for entries for its 2011 Best Practices Awards in Health Care Consumer Empowerment and Protection to honor and highlight organizations that are setting the standard in advancing the role of consumers as active participants in health care.

The deadline for entries is February 18, 2011. To access the online submission form, please visit https://www.urac.org/12thAnnualSummit/bpa.asp.

“In this dynamic health care environment, it is more important than ever to highlight best practices in health care value, transparency, and accountability.  The Best Practices Awards give health care organizations an opportunity to showcase best-in-class practices and receive recognition for their commitment to engage consumers as partners,” said Alan P. Spielman, president and CEO of URAC. “We are honored to again be able to showcase those who are leading the health care industry through innovation and providing proven practices that advance patient safety and empowerment.”

URAC’s Best Practices Awards recognize the achievements of health care companies that are actively pursuing practices to advance consumer empowerment and protection in an exceptional, measurable and reproducible way. Last year’s winners included innovative companies such as our Platinum Award winners Centene Corporation and Prescription Solutions.

Awards will be given in two categories:

  • Consumer Decision-Making – recognizes practices that educate consumers about their health care needs while providing the information, tools, and resources necessary to promote empowerment. These could include health coaching, disease-specific education, or behavior change programs.
  • Consumer Health Improvement – honors practices that are related to quality improvement in patient safety or health care outcomes such as drug therapy management, disease prevention, or care coordination.

The competition is open to six types of health care organizations: Health Care Provider Practices, Health Information/Decision Support Companies, Health Management Companies, Health Plans and Health Networks, Pharmacy Management Companies, and Workers’ Compensation Companies.

Entries will face rigorous evaluation by a panel of independent judges comprised of experts in program evaluation, care coordination, health information technology, employer and purchaser decision-making and patient safety.

To promote industry knowledge and provide further recognition for their programs, finalists will have the opportunity to present their program during an educational session at URAC’s 12th Annual Quality Summit scheduled for October 4-6, 2011 at the Chicago Marriott Downtown.

For questions, please email education@urac.org or call 202-216-9010.


For 25 years, URAC has been the independent leader in promoting health care quality through accreditation, education, and measurement. URAC offers a wide range of quality benchmarking programs that reflect the latest changes in health care and provide a symbol of excellence for organizations to showcase their validated commitment to quality and accountability. URAC’s evidence-based measures and standards are developed through inclusive engagement with a broad range of stakeholders committed to improving the quality of health care.

For more information about URAC, contact us.

Interested in accreditation?
Contact businessdevelopment@urac.org

Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Social Media TextFollow us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on Linked In