« Return to News Archives

URAC Announces Recipients of the 2012 Acknowledgement of Excellence in Hospital Website Transparency

Tuesday, February 12th, 2013

February 12, 2013 – Washington, DC – URAC announced today the recipients of the 2012 Acknowledgement of Excellence in Hospital Website Transparency, presented in conjunction with The Leapfrog Group.  The Acknowledgement comes as part of an overall Excellence in Hospital Website Transparency Awards Program, which identifies outstanding hospital websites promoting transparency of safety and quality measures in a manner that is useful and user-friendly for consumers.  All hospitals who publically report their Leapfrog Hospital Survey results were eligible.

“These awards are a unique celebration of hospitals that show initiative in protecting consumers through transparency and quality reporting. It is encouraging to see so many hospitals that have implemented leading initiatives in an effort to make a difference in the lives of the consumers they serve,” said John D. Jones, URAC Chairman of the Board.

The Acknowledgement of Excellence in Hospital Website Transparency is an evaluation of a hospital’s overall website transparency including elements related to design, credibility, literacy and connectivity.  This Acknowledgement is based on a set of objective criteria established in accordance with the National Quality Forum’s guidelines for consumer-focused, Internet-based public reporting of health performance data as well as the Model Public Report Elements prepared for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and other research-based criteria. All hospitals applying and qualifying for the Acknowledgement were eligible to apply for the Best Practices in Hospital Website Transparency Award. Winners of this award will be announced at a later date.

Seven hospitals received the 2012 Acknowledgement of Excellence in Hospital Website Transparency, with two of those hospitals also receiving a Distinction with Honors for their outstanding work in hospital website transparency:
•    Adventist Medical Center
•    Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
•    Emerson Hospital
•    Hunterdon Medical Center (distinction with honors)
•    Mercy Regional Medical Center
•    Northwestern Memorial Hospital (distinction with honors)
•    Southern Ohio Medical Center

Hospitals receiving this Acknowledgement will be identifiable by the award seal on the hospital website.  More information about the awards program can be found at https://www.urac.org/hospitalwebsiteawards/.


For 25 years, URAC has been the independent leader in promoting health care quality through accreditation, education, and measurement. URAC offers a wide range of quality benchmarking programs that reflect the latest changes in health care and provide a symbol of excellence for organizations to showcase their validated commitment to quality and accountability. URAC’s evidence-based measures and standards are developed through inclusive engagement with a broad range of stakeholders committed to improving the quality of health care.

For more information about URAC, contact us.


Interested in accreditation?
Contact businessdevelopment@urac.org

Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Social Media TextFollow us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on Linked In