Telehealth Accreditation

Telehealth Accreditation Program Header

“We used the URAC standards as part of our framework as we built out our consumer-to-provider telehealth program. By using the URAC standards as a guide, we were better able to determine what to focus on, such as IT security, prescribing, and patient identification security.”


- UHS Telehealth Program Manager Sean Britton, MPA, CPHQ, NRP

What type of organizations will benefit from Telehealth Accreditation?

URAC’s Telehealth Accreditation Program (TAP) is open to a wide range of telehealth organizations including:

  • Telemedicine providers (e.g., physicians, nurses, hospital systems)
  • Health plans
  • Specialty care organizations
  • Other organizations that offer telehealth services

Any organization interested in applying for URAC’s telehealth accreditation must first register and be evaluated as eligible for the program - this will occur within three business days of registering. After being deemed eligible and executing the accreditation agreement, applicants upload all materials and supporting documentation through URAC’s submission portal. URAC’s telehealth accreditation process is designed to be completed in four months or less.

Register Now

You can also access our clearinghouse of information regarding COVID-19 and telehealth here.

Download our Telehealth Modules table here to identify which module(s) best applies to your organization, or take a look out the graphic below:

2020 Telehealth Modules

The Future of Telehealth is Here - Promote safety, security and patient outcomes through virtual visits: Click Here To View The On-demand Webinar

Telehealth is growing in popularity among consumers, providers, payers, and other stakeholders in the health care system. The benefits of telehealth include increased access to care; cost containment; and connecting patients with primary care, specialty providers and other services in underserved areas.

The primary goal of URAC’s Telehealth Accreditation Program (TAP) is to promote access to safe, high-quality, and competent health care regardless of the mode of telehealth being used or the type of clinical services being provided to patients.

Our Telehealth Accreditation Program is comprised of three modules, which may be purchased individually or as a set:

  • Consumer-to-Provider (C2P) – covers services that are initiated by a patient and can take place in the home or other non-clinical setting
  • Provider-to-Consumer (P2C) – covers services that are provider initiated and can take place in clinical as well as non-clinical site
  • Provider-to-Provider (P2P) – covers services between providers, primarily for a specialty consultation; they usually take place in a clinical setting

Our approach defines the standards of excellence for telehealth, without prescribing how organizations must meet those standards, to allow this evolving industry to continue innovating while ensuring patient protection. Understanding the value of integrated care, URAC also weaves key behavioral health components into our Telehealth Accreditation standards.

URAC’s telehealth accreditation standards were developed in consultation with leading experts in the telehealth industry, including representatives from health care providers, technology firms, consumer organizations, insurers, and academics. Industry best practices were identified in areas such as quality and coordination of care, access, safety, systems integrity and reliability, consumer protection and empowerment, and regulatory compliance.

Achievement of the URAC Telehealth Accreditation seal is a mark of high-performing telehealth providers who believe in and practice excellence.

Download our Telehealth Standards-at-a-Glance and Measures-at-a-Glance.

Request a Quote

Let's Talk