3 easy steps to begin your URAC accreditation


the standards at the URAC store


a quote / consultation

Three Stages of Accreditation - Sign the agreement


the application agreement for accreditation


Chronic diseases are among the country’s most common, costly and preventable health problems. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 60% of Americans live with a chronic condition such as anxiety, diabetes, heart disease, stroke and cancer, and 40% have two or more conditions. Approximately 90% percent of total U.S. health care spending is associated with treating chronic illnesses.

URAC’s Disease Management Accreditation aligns with national efforts to prevent and control chronic diseases by improving individual health status. Our accreditation attests to your organization’s determination to prevent chronic illness and slow or eliminate disease progression for those with diagnosed conditions.

Key Program Components

The foundation of a successful, comprehensive disease management program is rooted in medical and scientific evidence, clinical practice guidelines and replicable industry standards. Key components include prevention, early detection and timely interventions as well as an effective, proven methodology to measure the impact of such interventions – both clinically and financially.

The URAC Difference

It is how your organization influences long-lasting behavior change for program participants that differentiates your approach to disease management. Our accreditation addresses key indicators of behavior change:

  • Consumer health literacy
  • Clinical decision supports
  • Adherence and compliance
  • Social determinants
  • Meaningful consumer feedback

What to Expect

Within six months or less, we will collaborate with your team to create a flexible framework for continuous improvement in disease management. While our experts define the standards of excellence, they do not prescribe how organizations must meet those standards. URAC’s thorough approach stimulates innovation across the continuum of care through email, conference calls and educational webinars.

We award Disease Management accreditation for a full three years and we require annual reporting of quality measures. Review our Disease Management Standards-at-a-Glance and Measures-at-a-Glance for more information.

Who May Apply

Organizations providing disease management services for individuals with chronic illness which would include health plans, disease management companies and medical management companies should apply for Disease Management Accreditation.