3 easy steps to begin your URAC accreditation

Obtain the standards at the URAC store
Request a consultation
Sign the application agreement for accreditation
Sign the application agreement for accreditation

Under the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA), clinicians eligible for the Merit-based Incentive Payment System who have at least 50 percent of their sites PCMH-certified by URAC will receive full credit for the improvement activities category.


Obtaining URAC’s Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Certification signals to patients and payers that you have invested in the infrastructure, health information technology, staffing and most importantly, the necessary shift in practice culture, to transform how primary care is organized and delivered.

The URAC Difference

Unlike organizations that simply validate what the physician practice already does, URAC’s unique three-tiered approach to PCMH certification guides your practice through a series of shared learning experiences. Our step-by-step progression helps you identify the best methods for providing value-based, quality care over time to better sustain long term transformation.

Understanding the value of integrated care, URAC also incorporates behavioral health components into our PCMH standards and patient measures.

Benefits of Certification

With URAC Certification, you are working toward real change to achieve tangible clinical and financial outcomes. You are also better positioned for successful clinical integration, quality care delivery and ultimately, value-based payment.

Our Certification is a true differentiator among your competitors, enabling you to:

  • Cite a high standard of excellence and quality patient care that differentiates your organization as an advanced practice
  • Indicate you have adopted innovative health information technologies and evidence-based medical approaches that enhance the patient experience
  • Achieve qualification for favorable payments under the MACRA Quality Payment Program as early as possible

What to Expect

Officially recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, our PCMH Certification was initially developed to conform with the guidelines jointly created by the American Academy of Family Physicians, American Academy of Pediatrics, American College of Physicians and American Osteopathic Association.

URAC conducts and assessment of your PCMH approach. While our experts define the standards of excellence for patient-centered care, they do not prescribe how your practice should meet those standards, which provide a flexible framework for continuous improvement. The certification process takes less than six months.

URAC’s approach stimulates innovation across the continuum of care through email, conference calls and educational webinars.

We award PCMH accreditation for a full three years and require annual reporting of quality measures. Download our Patient-Centered Medical Home Standards-at-a-Glance and Measures-at-a-Glance for more information.

Who May Apply

Legally organized health care practices that provide primary care to patients in office-based settings, outpatient clinics or academic-affiliated ambulatory clinics.

Other Administrative Management Accreditation Programs

Provider-Based Population Health Accreditation

Coordinates care for a defined population of beneficiaries through a provider network

Learn More

Health Care Management Certification

Operates in health care and is not eligible for other URAC accreditation

Learn More

Health Network Accreditation

Performs and/or delegates health network functions, including management, credentialing and recredentialing

Learn More