3 easy steps to begin your URAC accreditation


the standards at the URAC store


a quote / consultation

Three Stages of Accreditation - Sign the agreement


the application agreement for accreditation


The patient experience is the most critical quality measure used to evaluate and improve health care service delivery across the care continuum. The very foundation of quality patient care begins with the individual health care provider. To ensure that foundation is strong, purchasers rely on Credentials Verification Organizations (CVOs) to qualify each network provider.

URAC accreditation ensures CVOs deploy a full-scope, comprehensive and fair but rigorous credentialing and re-credentialing program that protects patients, payers and providers.

The URAC Difference

URAC’s Credentials Verification Organization Accreditation infrastructure requires that you meet 40 specific core standards of best in class health care operations across the following areas:

  • Organizational Structure
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Delegated Functions
  • Marketing and Sales
  • Information Management
  • Quality Management
  • Staffing and Oversight
  • Consumer Rights, Safety and Satisfaction

Our accreditation includes four additional sets of standards with specific requirements that address: credential verification processes, data integrity, communications and on-site reviews.

What to Expect

We collaborate with your team to create a flexible framework for continuous improvement in credentials verification. While our experts define the standards of excellence, they do not prescribe how your organization must meet those standards.

URAC’s thorough approach stimulates innovation across the continuum of care through email, conference calls and educational webinars.

We award CVO accreditation for a full three years. View our Standards-at-a-Glance for more information.

Who May Apply

Credentialing organizations that provide services to health plans or other entities providing health care to consumers may apply. Your company must be operating as a CVO for at least six months prior to applying for accreditation under these standards.