Medicare Advantage Accreditation

Medicare Advantage Accreditation header graphic

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) granted URAC “deeming authority” status, which means that URAC’s Medicare Advantage Accreditation program meets or exceeds Medicare standards in all six CMS quality deeming categories.

CMS’s deeming program allows organizations participating in the Medicare Advantage program to satisfy these requirements by earning accreditation from an approved third party rather than through a full CMS audit. URAC clients benefit from our unique accreditation process, which facilitates learning and helps the organization create a framework for continuous improvement.

The URAC-accredited organization meets or exceeds CMS Medicare Advantage regulatory standards in the following six areas:

  • Quality assessment and improvement
  • Access to services
  • Provider participation
  • Advance directives
  • Information about antidiscrimination
  • Confidentiality and accuracy of enrollee records

Who may apply?

Health plans, including Health Maintenance Organizations, Preferred Provider Organizations, Private Fee-for-Service plans, and more.

Let's Talk