3 easy steps to begin your URAC certification


the standards at the URAC store


a quote / consultation

Three Stages of Accreditation - Sign the agreement


the application agreement for the certification

URAC orange dot grid


Recognizing that some best-in-class health care organizations qualify for URAC recognition, but do not meet the eligibility requirements for specific accreditation or certification programs, URAC offers a more broadly defined Health Care Management (HCM) Certification.

Our HCM standards are derived from URAC’s core accreditation, which defines the general focus areas for most URAC accreditation programs.

Those four Foundational Focus Areas are:

  • Risk Management
  • Operations and Infrastructure
  • Performance Monitoring and Improvement
  • Consumer Protection and Empowerment

Certifying your program gives you a competitive advantage in serving the needs of your partners and key stakeholders, whether you have direct consumer or provider interactions or are performing subcontracted health care operations.

Benefits of Certification

With HCM Certification, you demonstrate your commitment to operational excellence by incorporating quality management principles into program and staff operations. The certification process verifies your operational soundness, policies and procedures, staffing oversight, consumer safety and organizational improvements.

URAC’s well-respected stamp of approval tells consumers, partners, payers and regulators that you meet the highest industry standards in delivering quality services.

What to Expect

URAC collaborates with you to develop a flexible framework for continuous improvement in health care management operations. While our experts define the standards of excellence, they do not prescribe how organizations must meet those standards. URAC’s thorough approach stimulates innovation across the continuum of care through email, conference calls and educational webinars.

Our Health Care Management Certification process takes less than six months. We award HCM certification for a full three years. Review our Standards-at-a-Glance for more information.

Who May Apply?

Organizations operating in the health care industry or serving other health care companies who are not eligible for other URAC accreditation or certification programs may apply for Health Care Management Certification. Applicants that were previously denied accreditation are also deemed ineligible.